Dhaka elect-mayors Taposh, Atiqul take oath

The newly elected mayors and councillors of Dhaka south and north city corporations took oath this morning (February 27.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oath of office to Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Mayor Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) Mayor Atiqul Islam at Shapla Hall of the Prime Minister’s
Office (PMO) here.

Besides, Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives Minister Md Tazul Islam administered the oath of offices to 172 councellors from the general wards and reserved women’s seats in the two city corporations at the
same venue.

The polls to the DSCC and DNCC were held on February 1.

Awami League-backed candidates- Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Atiqul Islam-swept the elections as residents of the capital elected their mayors to hold the offices of DSCC and DNCC for next five years.

Alongside the two elected mayors, 100 councillors — 75 general councillors from 75 wards and 25 women councillors from 25 reserved seats- were elected in DSCC, while 72 councillors— 54 general councillors from 54
wards and 18 women councillors from 18 reserved seats-in DNCC.

However, the newly elected mayors and councillors will have to wait until the middle of May to take charge as the five-year tenure of the incumbent public representatives of DSCC will expire on May 17 while that of DNCC on
May 13 next.

Road Transport and Bridges Minister and Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader and Local Government, Rural Development, Co-operatives Minister Md Tazul Islam and the newly elected mayors of Dhaka were also
present on the dais. (Source: BSS)

Leave a Reply